An interview with the interviewer

Kartick Jagtap | SIMC Ink

Harsha Bhogle has been synonymous with cricket broadcast in our country for almost two decades now. His sound thinking and acute analysis of the game have made him immensely popular among the cricket crazy fans of our country. In fact, I’m proud to say that Harsha Bhogle has been the very reason why I aspire to be in the world of Sports Journalism.

After having grown up  with Harsha’s television presentations at pre and post match cricket shows, the news network that I interned with, allowed me a chance to attend an event hosted by the ace presenter. However, the nature of the show and the paucity of time rendered it difficult to hound him for a quick word, leave alone an autograph.

Little did I know that only a fortnight later, the opportunity to not just meet the icon but to actually interview him would present itself.

Harsha Bhogle visited the Symbiosis Institute of Media and Communication, as a guest for SIMClairvoyance and that was the occasion which allowed me to interview the interviewer.

While it was my first interview on camera, Harsha eased my mood by explaining to me that it is only normal to be nervous. “This is the age when you are allowed to make mistakes,” he said and I could not be more grateful. While my skills as an interviewer were nowhere close to those exhibited by the man himself, every moment in his presence was a great learning experience.

My interview ranged from questions about his foray into the world of sports-broadcast to Team India’s chances at the upcoming ICC World Cup, each of which he answered with equal enthusiasm and gusto. He shared his ideal Test XI with us and even remarked that he was happy to be on the other side of the table for a change.

He also spoke about the importance of hard work and the need to be at the right place at the right time, factors which played a big role in his success as a sports broadcaster.

With less than a semester left for me to step into the exciting world of sports broadcast I can only work hard and try and achieve what Harsha Bhogle has.

After all, in his case, the hard work really paid.

 

Leave a comment